Home

I wake up in the morning feeling like I must have been beaten with a baseball bat while sleeping. Only I know that’s impossible, because I don’t really sleep so I would know if someone was in my room assaulting me. I fall asleep around 9:30 pm. Then I am up at 2:30 am and again at 4:30 am which is really inconvenient when I usually have to be up by 5:30 am. I have constant back and leg pain. I have a sore neck and shoulders. My body is tender to the touch every day. Upon waking, my stomach aches. It twists and turns. Even though I may hunger throughout the day, I seldom have an appetite or interest in food. I am tired and cloudy in mind. I forget movies I have seen, conversations I have had, why I walk into a room, and what I was just about to say or do. My eyes are dry and itchy. Headaches interrupt my work. I cry at least once a day and have frequent bouts of frustration and anger. I am uninspired, fatigued and I lack enthusiasm. I rarely socialize with friends anymore. I typically just want to lay down and watch tv until I fall asleep and all of what I described happens all over again.FIBROMYALGIA

I have fibromyalgia.

I am starting this blog as a way of navigating this condition. I am not new to these symptoms, but I am new to this diagnosis.   If you read this and have any advise or words for me, I will gladly read them. Thank you.

4 thoughts on “Ouch…

  1. I hope you are seeing a dr for your fibro. If I can answer any questions please feel free to ask. I am here to help. 🙂

    it sounds like you are in the throes of it and have many of the symptoms. I took meds for several years and definitely wouldnt have healed without them, and I also started eating only healthy foods. Its very important that the brain get the essential amino acids that it requires, so that it can heal.

    I know about the appetite. I lost 30 pounds when it hit me in 2001. But, slowly I healed and started eating again and healthier.

    There is a hormonal lotion that helped my aches. It is called pregnenolone. It is natural and safe.

    Heat — showers and heating pads — also helps. Stay away from excessive cold. . 🙂

    ((HUGS)) 🙂

  2. Goodness Amy! Is this treatable? Are you getting treatment? I heard an interview on Fresh Air the other day about a woman living with a rare respiratory disease, but she had written a book called “In the Kingdom of the Sick” that speaks to living with chronic illness and chronic pain. I don’t know if fibromylagia is a chronic illness, but it certainly seems like you’re living with chronic pain. I hope you are able to find relief.

    • Thanks. I have been tracking my symptoms for almost two years. I used to think that my pain came from carrying Hektor and everything else. But I have not had to carry him in a long time. It got worse when I exercised unless I did yoga. So now I do yoga. I went to my ob gyn to rule out other things. That was fine. There is no definitive test. It’s a syndrome with about ten main symptoms. I have nine. I am making some life changes, and they seem to have helped some. Most people say their fibromyalgia happened after experiencing a trauma. I have not suffered any physical traumas thankfully, but I noticed things got a lot worse after my mother’s conditioned worsened and she started developing blood clots last year.

Leave a Reply

